#SSAmazingAchievements 01/02/2017 Doing Well At School

It was Sir’s parent’s evening last night, and it was rather educational..

Apparently he now splits his time between two classes, his Year 8 form class and a Year 7 class run by the teacher he had when he was in that year. I’m not sure how long this arrangement has been in place, but I get the impression it’s recent. The reasoning is that the Y7 kids he now mixes with are more independent, more social and more academic. They are responsible for their own belongings, they use the toilet independently and they are more able to learn. I know Sir is a very bright lad, I’m told he fits in very well with the brightest kids in the class, I think it’s a veryΒ  positive thing as he will be pushed and challenged more. The teacher in that class doesn’t stand any nonsense either and to be honest he needs that too. I have a feeling that his form teacher isn’t quite firm enough with him, Sir has his issues, but he needs to know the boundaries as much as any other child. I found out that some behaviour he’s been doing at home is happening at school too. Nothing major, but all the same it needs addressing. I might make a separate post about that πŸ™‚

The one thing that was very educational for me is that at school Sir has reached his toilet training targets! oh yes, at school he uses the toilet, he rarely has accidents.. Hmm. I’m really pleased about it but now he has to do it at home. His teacher told me she has been firm with him and telling him he can’t have X,Y,Z thing that he wants until he’s used the loo. So starting immediately I did that too.. he didn’t like me much last night but hey ho. There will be a post about that too.

Overall though he is doing brilliantly at school, he’s very social, he (mostly) goes to his lessons and lunch independently plus he now gets two Forest School sessions every week!

I’m linking with Jane http://ourlittleescapades.com/2017/02/small-steps-amazing-achievements-1st-february-2017/

8 thoughts on “#SSAmazingAchievements 01/02/2017 Doing Well At School

  1. So glad to hear that Sir is doing so well at school – it sounds like splitting his time between the two classes is working well for him. #ssamazingachievements

  2. What a fantastic update. It does sound a bit backwards in coming forwards to go into the younger year but at the same time I totally understand that it can be a positive thing. Good luck on your continued toilet training. We found it was all done at school first and then gradually moved into the home.

    Thanks for linking up with Small Steps Amazing Achievements (sorry my comment is late)
    x

Leave a Reply

