Word of the Week 6/1/2017 Changes #WotW

I’m using the word changes not because I’ve made any drastic alterations to my life, but it sounds a bit more flexible than Resolutions which as we all know get broken by lunchtime on January 2nd – or at least mine do!

The changes I’ve made/am making are more alterations than anything else, for example, in the mornings I normally end up bolting cold toast down my neck in between getting kids lunch bags ready, getting their breakfast, making sure Sir is ready to go to school at 8:15am when his bus arrives and then making sure Madam is ready to go out of the house fifteen minutes later. The result if not indigestion is feeling hungry again by 9:30am, so I decided I would wait until I get back from the school run to have my breakfast, and it’s wonderful! I get to eat at my own pace, in peace, have a cup of tea, sit for ten minutes afterwards and still get done whatever I need to do.

I’ve rearranged some photographs, put some in new frames, took some upstairs, put others downstairs. Hubby bought me a print by an artist I discovered on Twitter and so I got a new frame to put that in and hung it in the bedroom.

Also, I have been cooking more meals myself from scratch. It’s very easy to fall into the cook it from frozen in 30 minutes trap, but with the colder weather we’ve had, I’ve decided good old fashioned home cooked it best. I’ve made a ham and leek pie, mince beef with onion and carrots – kind of Cottage Pie on a plate! and yesterday I did a slow cook of chicken thighs in vegetable soup. I was up early anyway and got it all done and on cooking by 7:30am šŸ˜€

I’ve even printed off the timetable for the gym.. now I’m not promising anything but I am going to attempt to change my routines so I can start going more regularly.. šŸ˜‰

Happy New Year to everyone on the linky šŸ™‚

I am linking with Jocelyn http://www.thereadingresidence.com/

16 thoughts on “Word of the Week 6/1/2017 Changes #WotW

  1. RaisieBay

    Happy New Year! I think the changes you have made are good ones and I hope you enjoy them. i remember when I changed to having my breakfast after dropping the kids off, it’s such a little step but it makes such a big difference. It’s definitely stopped me from snacking before lunch, which i often used to do.

  2. Changes is a good word – more realistic I think than resolutions. Home-cooked meals are fabulous – we’ve been doing a little more of that recently too. Having a more leisurely breakfast after the school run also sounds lovely. Hope 2017 will be a good year for you šŸ™‚ #WotW

Leave a Reply

