Seth Lakeman 18/12/2016 Warwick Arts Centre

I don’t remember now who’s daft idea it was to go to a concert the night before we set off on a pre Christmas break but I’m glad they came up with it.

We were on the second row, literally 4 feet from the stage.

Support act Wildwood Kin who sing with Seth on his latest album Ballads of the Broken Few (review here ) normally a trio but down to a duo as one of them had been taken ill. They were very good, lovely voices and nice girls.

Seth was on fire. In fact this is probably one of the best concerts of his I’ve been to, he really mixed up the songs, styles and pace. He even bought out an electric guitar he’d recently purchased “I was supposed to have got a Christmas tree.. I’m going to be in so much trouble” he joked. Wildwood Kin joined Seth for a beautiful acapella set, their voices blended so well with his, and they didn’t even use a microphone.

He stepped away from the mike (and almost into the front row) for Portrait of my Wife, one of the most perfect songs ever written. He of course did Kitty Jay, which I never tire of hearing live. The whole mood changes, regardless of venue.

During the encore of Race to be King he broke into a lively fiddle version of Jingle Bells much to the amusement of the crowd.

I did take a few photos with my phone, but they aren’t that good. If ever Seth is touring near you, please do go and see him… he’s very handsome too ladies if that helps šŸ˜‰

I did see something about him touring next year so fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

