#SSAmazingAchievements 4/11/2016 Confidence

A lack of confidence is something that affects most girls with Fragile X and despite being a bossy little Madam at home (hence the nickname) she can be unsure of herself sometimes and finds things daunting.

Going into school of a morning is a good example. I had to walk her into her classroom everyday. When she got to Year 5 I told her that had to stop and I was not very popular for it.. however, at that time the new head said that the kids had to go straight onto the playground rather than into school. This made things a lot less daunting for her. After that all I did was walk with her up the steep steps that lead through the gate and that was it!

Today she has a school trip and whether it was partly excitement about that I don’t know, but she went off up the steps on her own, with a cheery “I’ll tell you all about it later Mummy!”

I could not have been more proud and there may have been something in my eye too…as I know you are all aware, it’s the little things 🙂

I’m linking with Jeanette http://www.autismmumma.com/2016/11/small-steps-amazing-achievements-21116/

7 thoughts on “#SSAmazingAchievements 4/11/2016 Confidence

  1. How fantastic, it’s all about gaining a little bit more independence isn’t it? I hope the trip went well and she did tell you all about it.
    Thanks for linking up with #SSAmazingAchievements

Leave a Reply

