#SSAmazingAchievements 28/7/2016 Wearing pants at home

Sir has done amazingly well with his toilet training at school, and now we are on holiday for 6 weeks I am determined not to let it slip. Easier said than done when he insists “pants are for school Mummy”

Well, since the first day of the holiday, pants have been for at home too. Not all day, but certainly for a few hours. He protested on day one but since then he’s been choosing which colour he wants to wear, and I’ve left it up to him (within reason) as to how long he wears them for. I could push him, I could insist he wear them all day, however that will get me absolutely nowhere. By giving him the idea that he is in control over it, I am far more likely to get him to co operate and the pants will stay on for longer. He has been sitting on the toilet too although we have yet to see an actual result, even so this is the furthest we have ever got with toilet training.

I have found that a more relaxed attitude towards it has meant I feel less stressed about it too. Although I have to admit I’d rather train a two year old than a 12 year old, it is what it is though. Two year olds are small enough to be picked up and deposited on the potty regardless of whether they argue with you! LOL! A strapping pre teen is another matter entirely 🙂

I’m keeping my fingers crossed that by the end of the holiday he will be more comfortable wearing his pants at home and using the toilet or at least not far off that stage.

I’m linking with Jane http://ourlittleescapades.com/2016/07/small-steps-amazing-achievements-27th-july-2016/

4 thoughts on “#SSAmazingAchievements 28/7/2016 Wearing pants at home

  1. That sounds like progress and it seems like you definitely know best. The paed told us to stop trying to train out 4 yo boy, who is autistic, at all – as the stress would just have a negative impact. I think it is definitely a control thing and therefore forcing it is probably never going to help – tough I am so early on in this journey! Good luck with it 🙂

    1. I wouldn’t say I know best 🙂 there have been numerous unsuccessful attempts over the years, and this is the first time it’s seemed to actually work, at school anyway. You know your son best and it really does depend on him. You could try sitting him on at odd times of the day, whilst keeping him in nappies, or you could leave it a couple of years and see then. But I do know if I really dig my heels in then so will he. Little tinkers! Are you aware that if you live in the UK and your child is not toilet trained at 4 for a medical reason you can have free nappies? ask the paed if they haven’t mentioned it 🙂

  2. This is fantastic news and I really think you have the right attitude towards it. We are in the same boat it’s a pants holiday for us too. I really do believe you have to follow the children with this and if you want Little E to train I will send her your way. We are hoping she will be trained by the time she is three but only time will tell.

    Thanks for linking up with Small Steps Amazing Achievements :0)
    x

  3. Pingback: Small Steps Amazing Achievements – 3/8/16 » AutismMumma

Leave a Reply

