Songs of the Month for June

For June I have picked three that really stand out, very different in styles, these are the songs that have been stuck in my head of late 😀

First up is “Sunlight, Good Roads” by Winter Mountain. This is a fine Summer single, the kind you don’t hear very often these days. Backing vocals by Seth Lakeman, this is rockier than his previous material.

Second is “Sound of Silence” by Disturbed. This single was released in 2015 apparently, but seems to have got a second wind of late. They are really not my kind of music at all, but this cover version of the Simon & Garfunkel song  is something else. The thing that impressed me is that behind all the thrash metal growling, their lead singer can really, properly sing. Also check out their version of “Land of Confusion”

Now then.. the third one I have chosen will surprise absolutely no one 😀 Yes, it’s the first solo offering from Il Divo’s Carlos Marin. It is the theme tune to a new Mexican soap opera, and features his long time singing partner and best friend forever Innocence. This is sultry, sexy, summer music for late nights sitting outside drinking nicely chilled wine and eating tapas. Not a hope in hell in England but you get the idea. It’s got a nice sway kind of beat to it, Marin and Innocence’s voices blend so well together, and even though I have no clue what they are singing about, I find myself humming it at odd times of the day 🙂

2 thoughts on “Songs of the Month for June

  1. Meg

    Surprisingly, I liked the Sounds of Silence cover. He does have a voice. Of course, Carlos’ voice is the best ever–so I definitely agree there. He and Geri are so good together. I suppose it’s a real case of ‘practice makes perfect’!!

Leave a Reply

