Review: Il Divo Amor & Pasion

I’m not going to beat about the bush. I love this album. ALL of this album. Every single song on it. I received it at 1.30pm on Friday afternoon and I’ve listened to it four times since then. I might listen again later, after the kids have gone to bed and Hubby has gone for a bath.

My favourite track is.. whichever one I’m listening to at the time I’m asked. I have favourite bits of all the songs. I love the mixing, the production, the fact that it’s all in Spanish and I don’t understand a word,Β  just makes it all the better to my ears. In fairness, I do know quite a few of the songs and they have been done in English, so I guess to say I don’t understand a word isn’t quite true although I realise the translations of the lyrics might not be word for word. I don’t mind that either.

I feel with this album they are finally doing what THEY want to do as opposed to some Music Industry Mogul with a penchant for botox telling them what to do. Some have said the Latin style is a change in direction for them, some say they’ve gone too far. I disagree. They’ve chosen some songs that some fans never thought they’d hear them sing, there is a change of pace yes, it’s more lively that previous albums granted, but to me it’s more like Siempre would have been had they gotten their way back then. In fact Siempre was my favourite till this one came out, the two have similar themes and I love all the songs on that album too. Amor & Pasion is like a sequel to it.Β  In fact, if they hadn’t put Somewhere on as a bonus track, none of the songs on Siempre would have been in English either. It’s also worth noting that A Musical Affair was mostly English and people moaned like hell about that album too…some people it seems are never happy with what the guys do. Well, the guys are making music that makes them happy, and the more they do that, the longer Il Divo will be about.

Track List:

  1. Por Una Cabeza
  2. Abrazame
  3. Don’t Wanna Lose You (Si Voy A Perderte)
  4. Quizas Quizas Quizas (Perhaps Perhaps Perhaps)
  5. Beseme Mucho
  6. Quien Sera (Sway)
  7. Volver
  8. Historia De Un Amor
  9. Eres Tu
  10. Contiga En La Distancia
  11. To All The Girls I’ve Loved Before (A Las Mujeres Que Ame)
  12. Himno De La Alegria (Ode To Joy)
14 thoughts on “Review: Il Divo Amor & Pasion

  1. Hi Karen unfortunately I haven’t had time to listen to the album as it only arrived about 30 minutes ago however I love the songs I have heard so far. I first heard the song perhaps, perhaps, perhaps on the Morecambe and Wise Show and have loved it ever since (showing my age now).

  2. Cora

    Ok, since we are talking about taste here it’s maybe not too rude if a disagree. It’s not my favorite. Latin is just not my favorite style of music. I liked Promesa and Wicked Game better. But I still like it. And I really like that you can hear the individual voices and styles more. And for the life of me I can’t figure out why they should sing a Latin style album in English.

    1. Not rude at all πŸ™‚ I love Wicked Game and Promessa, although I didn’t like Promessa the first few times I listened. It grew on me very slowly.
      No I can’t work that out either…

  3. Meg

    It’s very interesting looking at the promo shots. You can tell that they are really enjoying singing these songs. There are a lot of smiles and movement that didn’t seem to be there before to me. It needs to be said, however, that “before” for me is A Musical Affair. Of course, I have the others, but I wasn’t a fan when they were being promo-ed, etc. I get the feeling that they mean it when they say that it is their favorite–since the first one. So the tour should be wonderful. November is a whole year away, however. Anticipation, I know!!

Leave a Reply

