Dr Zhivago – Original Broadway Cast Recording (Review) @ZhivagoMusical

I said it at the time and I will say it again now:
I cannot for the life of me understand why this musical closed after such a short period of time.
Yes the critics gave it a mauling, again no idea why but still, the audiences however seemed to love it. I think it would have been really successful had it been given the chance.

I had the pleasure of seeing Tam Mutu as Javert in Les Mis for which he won all kinds of awards. He is a brilliant actor and has a fabulous voice. He is also very much leading man material ❤

Having eventually got round to listening to the soundtrack properly I can honestly say I am still bewildered by the decision to close. The score is beautiful, all the performers give their all, Tam Mutu and Kelli Barrett are wonderful as Yuri and Lara. She has a lovely voice and I really hope we hear more of her in the future.

I got my copy from Amazon US but I’ve just checked Amazon UK and they do have it 😀 it is worth every penny. If you love musical theatre then you will love this. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Especially if you are a fan of Mr Mutu..

Maybe some enterprising person will revive it over here in the UK, maybe take it on a tour – pretty please.. because I am sure the audiences here would love it.

 

Leave a Reply

