Horse Riding Lessons #FragileX

Because Sir enjoyed his horse riding lessons so much at school, we looked into taking him ourselves. I asked his teacher where they went and it turns out it’s only 20 minutes away. I phoned up a week or so ago, they remembered Sir and were more than happy for him to attend a group lesson. That was a bonus for us as it’s half the price of a private one. Madam decided she’d like to come along too so we booked them both a lesson for 10am this morning.

I had joked that we would need the Sat Nav to find a place that was more or less on our doorstep.. however it’s seems many a true word is spoken in jest. In fact if Hubby hadn’t found it on the Google Street map we would have driven straight past it!

The staff at the centre are lovely, they welcomed Sir with open arms, they were really happy to see him again. “Come on, let’s get you a hat and you can show your sister what to do” and so off they both went whilst I filled a form in for Madam.

There is a viewing area where parents can watch the kids having their lesson.

Sir was on a big horse called Ben and Madam had a smaller horse called Jingles.Ā  Sir had the biggest grin on his face as he told Ben to “trot on” and Madam was telling Jingles to “giddy up” at regular intervals. There were about 8 kids in the groups. Taking photos is not allowed during the group lessons for obvious reasons.

The nicest thing for me though was watching Sir take part in a group activity, with kids he didn’t know, and not being treated any differently from any one else. There was no need to explain his condition, there were no awkward stares from other parents/children, no special arrangements needed to be made, he was just the boy on the horse. Moments like that do not happen very often.Ā  It wasn’t just the kids grinning.

Madam had a brilliant time too so we have booked two more lessons šŸ™‚ in fact our Saturday mornings will now include horse riding on a regular basis. That’s a sentence I never thought I’d write šŸ™‚

 

17 thoughts on “Horse Riding Lessons #FragileX

      1. That’s great! You should try it. I highly recommend it. Also I read some of your posts on Fragile X and I like them very much. I have the condition myself so its nice to read positive things about it

      2. Aww thank you again šŸ™‚ I prefer to look at the positive as much as I can, as you know, conditions like Fragile X get a lot of negative press. I try to balance that in my own small way šŸ™‚

      3. your welcome šŸ™‚ Oh absolutely. I see it everyday and everywhere i go. It’s kind of sad honestly. And I think the thing that breaks my heart is that people think that we’re stupid or incapable but we aren’t

  1. Cora

    Go take some lessons, too! Maybe not only the kids will love it. I bet your son will be thrilled to show his mom how to do it. Horses and riding are great.

Leave a Reply

