Musings about Les Mis

It occurred to me today that I am very slowly getting to see my favourite singers who at one point or another have been in Les Miserable sing the songs that they performed in the musical. I wasn’t able to go and see Michael Ball as Marius, I didn’t get to see Lea Salonga play Eponine or Fantine and neither did I see Alfie Boe as Valjean.

Fast forward a few years and I have been able to see all of these singers perform my favourite Les Mis songs. I’ve seen Alfie Boe perform Bring Him Home twice. Thanks to Il Divo I saw Lea Salonga sing a I Dreamed A Dream/On My Own medley and last night I saw Michael Ball sing Empty Chairs At Empty Tables. All of these were the most incredible performances I’ve ever seen.

A couple of years ago I went to see Les Mis on the West End stage and was fortunate enough to see Tam Mutu as Javert. He blew me away with his performance. Now he’s making his name on Broadway.. who knows in a few years maybe I’ll watching him in his own concert..

The other Javert I would love to see is Norm Lewis. Who knows if that will ever happen..

One performance I’m definitely still holding on for is to see Carlos Marin sing Empty Chairs.. he played Marius in the original Spanish production in his pre Il Divo days.

I keep hoping 🙂

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Musings about Les Mis

  1. Meg

    I, too, would pay (a lot, in fact) to see Carlos do Empty Chairs. Watching it in a YouTube just isn’t near to what it would be like to hear it in person. But it’s pretty close to Heaven.

    Meg

Leave a Reply

