#SSAmazingAcheivements Cutting Sir’s nails…

Regular followers of my Twitter feed will know that Sir hates having his fingernails cut. Toenails are fine, he will happily sit there and let me do it.. but not fingernails. Heaven knows what the difference is but he will fight, cry, scream and have a meltdown if I try to do his fingernails.

In order to try and minimise his upset I started cutting one everyday and after a few days he was “happier” with that – not happy but “happier”. He would still move his hand at the last minute..

Today I noticed his nails were getting long (think Wolverine from X-Men) and I asked if I could cut one. Well to be honest I bribed him with Pringles and offering to build his marble run for him.. but nonetheless he agreed.

He let me cut one nail and then to my amazement he let me cut a second! Two nails being cut at the same time with NO FUSS is unheard of! So I am very proud of my (not so)little X-Man today 😀

This week’s #SSAmazingAcheivements is hosted by http://www.autismmumma.com/2015/03/small-steps-amazing-achievements-18315/

6 thoughts on “#SSAmazingAcheivements Cutting Sir’s nails…

  1. Caroline (Becoming a SAHM)

    Aww well done! We used to have the same battles with our Monkey but he has gradually accepted it now and sometimes even asks me to cut his nails! Thank goodness as trying to cut the nails of a writhing toddler was a nightmare!! Xx

  2. ourlittleescapades

    That’s fantastic and a very positive step forward. I can’t cut my sons finger or toe nails he will only let daddy do it with me singing Tommy thumb very badly at the same time. I hope it gets better for you x

  3. Oh gosh, this brings back memories. T would only have his toe nails if we gave him grapes and sang to him, it took two of us too, he was such a wriggler.
    Thanks for linking up with #SSAmazingAchievements

  4. Pingback: Small Steps Amazing Achievements  » AutismMumma

Leave a Reply

